Journal article

Association between serotonin transporter genotype, brain structure and adolescent-onset major depressive disorder: a longitudinal prospective study

K Little, CA Olsson, S Whittle, GJ Youssef, ML Byrne, JG Simmons, M Yuecel, DL Foley, NB Allen



The extent to which brain structural abnormalities might serve as neurobiological endophenotypes that mediate the link between the variation in the promoter of the serotonin transporter gene (5-HTTLPR) and depression is currently unknown. We therefore investigated whether variation in hippocampus, amygdala, orbitofrontal cortex (OFC) and anterior cingulate cortex volumes at age 12 years mediated a putative association between 5-HTTLPR genotype and first onset of major depressive disorder (MDD) between age 13-19 years, in a longitudinal study of 174 adolescents (48% males). Increasing copies of S-alleles were found to predict smaller left hippocampal volume, which in turn was associated with ..

View full abstract


Awarded by National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

Awarded by Australian Research Council (ARC)

Awarded by Australian Research Council Fellowship

Awarded by NHMRC Career Development Fellowship

Awarded by NHMRC Fellowship Award

Funding Acknowledgements

Neuroimaging analysis was facilitated by the Neuropsychiatry Imaging Laboratory at the Melbourne Neuropsychiatry Centre. The authors would like to acknowledge the Brain Research Institute for support in acquiring the neuroimaging data, and Keith Byron, PhD, and Healthscope Pathology for support in analyzing genetic data. We would also like to sincerely thank the participating families for their loyal support of the Orygen Adolescent Development Study. Funding for this analysis was supported through grants from the Colonial Foundation, the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) (NHMRC Program Grant 350241) and the Australian Research Council (ARC) (ARC Discovery Grant DP0878136). Keriann Little is supported by an Australian Postgraduate Award. Associate Professor Craig Olsson is supported by an Australian Research Council Fellowship (ARC DORA DP1311459). Dr Sarah Whittle is supported by an NHMRC Career Development Fellowship (ID: 1007716). Dr Debra Foley is supported by the Colonial Foundation (Australia). Prof Murat Yucel is supported by an NHMRC Fellowship Award (ID: 1021973).