Journal article

Antigen affinity, costimulation, and cytokine inputs sum linearly to amplify T cell expansion

Julia M Marchingo, Andrey Kan, Robyn M Sutherland, Ken R Duffy, Cameron J Wellard, Gabrielle T Belz, Andrew M Lew, Mark R Dowling, Susanne Heinzel, Philip D Hodgkin

Science | AMER ASSOC ADVANCEMENT SCIENCE | Published : 2014


Awarded by National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

Awarded by Human Frontier Science Program

Awarded by Science Foundation Ireland

Funding Acknowledgements

We thank S. Turner for providing the recombinant influenza virus and discussion and comments on the manuscript; L. Corcoran and V. Bryant for discussion and comments on the manuscript; A. Giang for discussion of experiments; M. Camilleri, L. Mackiewicz, M. Dayton, and D. Pavlyshyn for technical assistance; and P. Bouillet for Bcl2l11<SUP>-/-</SUP> mice. Fucci Red and Fucci Green mice were provided by the Riken BioResource Centre through the National BioResource Project of the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science, and Technology of Japan. We also thank K. Lafferty and his two-signal theory for inspiring this work. The data are tabulated in the main paper and in the supplementary materials. Experimental data and the code for fitting the Cyton model will be made available upon request. This work was supported by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) through project grants 1010654 and 1043414, program grants 1054925 and 1037321, and fellowships to M. R. D., A. M. L., and P. D. H., K. R. D. and P. D. H. were supported by Human Frontier Science Program grant RGP0060/2012, G. T. B. was supported by an Australian Research Council Future Fellowship, and K. R. D. was supported by Science Foundation Ireland grant 12IP1263. This work was made possible through Victorian State Government Operational Infrastructure Support and Australian Government NHMRC Independent Research Institutes Infrastructure Support Scheme. J.M.M. was the recipient of an Australian Postgraduate Award and a Walter and Eliza Hall Institute Edith Moffat Scholarship.