Diversity in Leadership: Australian women, past and present

J Damousi, K Rubenstein, M Tomsic

ANU Press | Published : 2014


While leadership is an over-used term today, how it is defined for women and the contexts in which it emerges remains elusive. Moreover, women are exhorted to exercise leadership, but occupying leadership positions has its challenges. Issues of access, acceptable behaviour and the development of skills to be successful leaders are just some of them. Diversity in Leadership: Australian women, past and present provides a new understanding of the historical and contemporary aspects of Indigenous and non-Indigenous women’s leadership in a range of local, national and international contexts. It brings interdisciplinary expertise to the topic from leading scholars in a range of fields and divers..

View full abstract

Funding Acknowledgements

This was published as a result of the ARC funded Linkage Project titled 'Women and leadership in a century of Australian democracy (2010 – 2012). Chief Investigators: Prof Patricia A Grimshaw, Prof Marian Sawer, Prof Shurlee L Swain, Prof Anna Haebich, A/Prof Christina Cregan, A/Prof Judith B Smart, Dr Margarita J McCann, Prof Joy Damousi, Dr Darryl J McIntyre, Prof Amanda M Sinclair, Ms Maggie H Shapley Partner organisations: Australian Nursing Federation, Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House, National Archives of Australia, National Film and Sound Archives, National Foundation for Australian Women, National Library of Australia