Journal article

Customs Union and Fiscal Union in Australia at Federation

Peter Lloyd



A central feature of the constitutional changes imposed at the time of Federation in 1901 was the 'fiscal union' of the six States. This union involved the abolition of tariffs on trade between the States, the harmonisation of the tariff rates and of the excise duty rates of the former six colonies, and the establishment of the financial arrangements to distribute the surplus net customs and excise revenues among the States. This paper examines these four elements of the fiscal union. It provides, for the first time, a measure of the change in the level of tariff duties imposed on imports from outside the Commonwealth and in excise duties. The harmonisation of the customs duty rates increase..

View full abstract

University of Melbourne Researchers