Journal article

Efficient molecular subtype classification of high-grade serous ovarian cancer

Huei San Leong, Laura Galletta, Dariush Etemadmoghadam, Joshy George, Martin Koebel, Susan J Ramus, David Bowtell



High-grade serous carcinomas (HGSCs) account for approximately 70% of all epithelial ovarian cancers diagnosed. Using microarray gene expression profiling, we previously identified four molecular subtypes of HGSC: C1 (mesenchymal), C2 (immunoreactive), C4 (differentiated), and C5 (proliferative), which correlate with patient survival and have distinct biological features. Here, we describe molecular classification of HGSC based on a limited number of genes to allow cost-effective and high-throughput subtype analysis. We determined a minimal signature for accurate classification, including 39 differentially expressed and nine control genes from microarray experiments. Taqman-based (low-densit..

View full abstract


Awarded by Ovarian Cancer Research Program of the US Department of Defense

Awarded by US Army Medical Research and Materiel Command

Awarded by National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia

Funding Acknowledgements

This study was supported by the Ovarian Cancer Research Program of the US Department of Defense Grants W81XWH-12-1-0104. The Australian Ovarian Cancer Study (AOCS) was supported by the US Army Medical Research and Materiel Command under DAMD17-01-1-0729, The Cancer Council Victoria, Queensland Cancer Fund, The Cancer Council New South Wales, The Cancer Council South Australia, The Cancer Foundation of Western Australia, The Cancer Council Tasmania and the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia (NHMRC 400413, 400281), Ovarian Cancer Australia (OCA), and the Peter MacCallum Cancer Foundation. The AOCS gratefully acknowledges the cooperation of the following institutions: New South Wales: John Hunter Hospital, North Shore Private Hospital, Royal Hospital for Women, Royal North Shore Hospital, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Westmead Hospital, Clinical Trials NSW; Queensland: Mater Misericordiae Hospital, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, Townsville Hospital, Wesley Hospital, Queensland Cancer Registry; South Australia: Flinders Medical Centre, Queen Elizabeth II, Royal Adelaide Hospital, South Australian Cancer Registry; Tasmania: Royal Hobart Hospital,; Victoria: Freemasons Hospital, Mercy Hospital for Women, Monash Medical Centre, Royal Women's Hospital; Western Australia: King Edward Memorial Hospital, St John of God Hospitals Subiaco, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, Western Australia Research Tissue Network (WARTN), Western Australia Cancer Registry. The AOCS also acknowledges the contribution of the study nurses and research assistants and would like to thank all of the women who participated in the study. A full list of members of the AOCS Study Group can be found at