Journal article

Global update on the susceptibility of human influenza viruses to neuraminidase inhibitors, 2013-2014

Emi Takashita, Adam Meijer, Angie Lackenby, Larisa Gubareva, Helena Rebelo-de-Andrade, Terry Besselaar, Alicia Fry, Vicky Gregory, Sook-Kwan Leang, Weijuan Huang, Janice Lo, Dmitriy Pereyaslov, Marilda M Siqueira, Dayan Wang, Gannon C Mak, Wenqing Zhang, Rod S Daniels, Aeron C Hurt, Masato Tashiro



Four World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Centres for Reference and Research on Influenza and one WHO Collaborating Centre for the Surveillance, Epidemiology and Control of Influenza (WHO CCs) tested 10,641 viruses collected by WHO-recognized National Influenza Centres between May 2013 and May 2014 to determine 50% inhibitory concentration (IC50) data for neuraminidase inhibitors (NAIs) oseltamivir, zanamivir, peramivir and laninamivir. In addition, neuraminidase (NA) sequence data, available from the WHO CCs and from sequence databases (n=3206), were screened for amino acid substitutions associated with reduced NAI susceptibility. Ninety-five per cent of the viruses tested by the W..

View full abstract


Awarded by JSPS KAKENHI Grant

Awarded by British Medical Research Council

Funding Acknowledgements

We thank all laboratories, mostly NICs of the WHO GISRS (, which contributed to this global analysis by submitting influenza virus positive samples (clinical specimens or virus isolates) to WHO CCs for detailed characterisation. We gratefully acknowledge the authors, originating and submitting laboratories of the sequences submitted to the GISAID database (Supplementary Table 3), and the sequences retrieved from the NCBI-IVR, that were included in this global analysis. The Tokyo WHO CC is supported by Grants-in-Aid for Emerging and Re-emerging Infectious Diseases from the Ministry of Health, Labour, and Welfare, Japan and by JSPS KAKENHI Grant number 26460816. The London WHO CC is funded by the British Medical Research Council through programme U117512723. The Melbourne WHO CC is supported by the Australian Government Department of Health.